EYFS Information

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage? 

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as 
well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. 

What is the EYFS Framework – why do we have one? 
The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents. In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater 
emphasis on your role in helping your child develop. 

It sets out: 
• The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare 
• The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge 
• Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS 
• Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)” 

There is also guidance for the professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing. 

How my child will be learning?
The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. 
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: 
• Communication and language; 
• Physical development; and 
• Personal, social and emotional development. 
These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. 
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. 
These are: 
• Literacy; 
• Mathematics; 
• Understanding the world; and 
• Expressive arts and design. 

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible 
so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests. 

Children in EYFS learn through playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking. The children use the indoors and outdoors, whatever the weather!


Chester Road,
Cheshire SY14 8PY
Headteacher: Mrs N Wetton
Main Contact: Terri-Ann Reynolds
If you would like to contact someone at school for help with anything please use the number or the email address above FAO: to Mrs Reynolds or Mrs Tilley
SEN Contact: Miss G Harper